Graduate Programs

Prospective Students Current Students Faculty Forms & Resources



Graduate Council

- » Graduate Council Minutes and Agendas
- » Graduate Council Standing Committees
- » Graduate Council Handbook

Graduate Faculty

Funding Your Students

Home » Faculty

Graduate Council

Purpose: The Graduate Council, which reports to the Provost & Vice President for Academic Affairs, defines, in consultation with the Dean of the Graduate School, the policies that govern graduate education at the University in compliance with the regulations of the University, the Board of Supervisors for the University of Louisiana System, the Board of Regents, and the State of Louisiana. Specifically, the Council defines minimum criteria relating to admission, retention, and completion of students in degree and nondegree graduate programs: its jurisdiction also extends to policies governing graduate faculty membership and application of college criteria for that membership, revision and/or review of existing graduate programs, graduate degree requirements, graduate courses, and graduate assistantships and fellowships. The Council also advises the Dean of the Graduate School on matters pertaining to graduate education.

Membership: The Council consists of 27 members. Fourteen faculty members are elected by the graduate faculty according to college to a term of three years. There are seven dean-appointed faculty members, one for each of the academic colleges, who also serve a term of three years. Three members of the graduate faculty are appointed by the Dean of the Graduate School, in consultation with the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, to provide balance and equity; these members are appointed to a term of one or two years. Two graduate student representatives also serve on the Council. Finally, the Dean of the Graduate School is an ex officio member. Deans of the academic colleges, including associate and assistant deans, and are not eligible for membership on the Graduate Council. At its final meeting of each academic year, the Council elects a Chairperson from among its continuing members to serve a term of one year beginning on the first day of the month following the election.

Meetings: The Council normally meets on the second Tuesday of each month during the academic year. Other meetings of the Council may be called by its Chairperson, the Dean of the Graduate School, or the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs.

Standing Committees: The standing committees of the Graduate Council include:

- · Appeals Committee P. Robert Viguerie, Chair
- · Curriculum Committee Heather Stone, Chair
- · Fellowships Committee Michael Kightley, Chair
- · Graduate Faculty Membership Committee William Ferguson, Chair

The Chairperson of the Graduate Council is charged with appointing the membership, including the chairperson, of the standing committees for a term that corresponds with the academic year. Members may be reappointed. Each standing committee includes members from each academic college. Faculty membership of the standing committees is restricted to continuing, fulltime faculty who are members of the Graduate Faculty.

The Council may establish and annoint other standing or ad hoc committees as it deems announciate

Current Members for 2018-2019:

Elected Members

Name	Department	College	
Thomas Cline	ARCH	Arts	
Catherine Roche-Wallace	MUS	Arts	
Patricia Lanier – Chair	MGMT	Business Administration	
Ourtis Matherne	MGMT	Business Administration	
Greggory Davis	KNES	Education	
Frank Del Favero	EDFL	Education	
Emad Habib	CIVE	Engineering	
Mehdi Mokhtari	PETE	Engineering	
Holly Damico	CODI	Liberal Arts	
Clancy Ratliff	ENGL	Liberal Arts	
Christy Lenahan	NURS	Nursing & Allied Health Professions	
Debbie White-Jefferson	NURS	Nursing & Allied Health Professions	
Scott Duke-Sylvester	BIOL	Sciences	
Andi Petculescu	PHYS	Sciences	

Academic Deans' Appointed Members

Name	Department	College	
Kari Smith	ARCH	Arts	
Tom Wilson	ACCT	Business Administration	
Katherine Hermann-Turner	COUE	Education	
Mark Zappi	CHEE	Engineering	
David Khey	CJUS	Liberal Arts	
Jennifer Lemoine	NURS	Nursing & Allied Health Professions	
Brian Schubert	GEOL	Sciences	

Dean of the Graduate School's Appointed Members

Name	Department	College	
Loic Bourdeau	MODL	Liberal Arts	
Henry Chu	CMIX	Sciences	
Heather Stone	EDCI	Education	

Graduate Student Members

Name	Graduate Program	
Daniel Odion, GSO Vice President	CIVE	
Linda Fairchild, EdD Student	EDFL	

Ex-Officio Member

Name	Office	College
Mary Farmer-Kaiser	Dean of the Graduate School	Graduate School

